Where the Trees Must Be Kept in Place

September 2, 2014 – Day 358

For purposes of this specific post, I will concede that there must be a reason for the situation I am about to describe. I have no idea what that reason, but I’m sure it’s valid and logical. With that being said, that doesn’t mean I’m above poking fun at it.

So now, on to the mystery of the shackled trees.

Since moving here over a year ago, I took notice that several of the trees that graced our semi-porous mesh trapezoid (SPMT) were bound within a wooden prison. Here, take a look at two examples…

DSCN6900

DSCN6901

At first, I surmised that the reason that the Thai flora was kept in wooden cradles was so that the structure gave the tree a solid path to grow along. This is akin to the way a seedling is tied to a stake so that it can grow. However, I also noticed that larger and full-grown trees were also harnessed.

DSCN6903

DSCN6904

DSCN6905

As I said at the top, I’m sure there’s a reasonably sound reason why the trees in our SPMT are double-rooted to the ground, but I’m not sure what it is.

Makes for some good pictures, though.

Leave a Reply

