Kids Today

January 6, 2014 – Singapore:Day 003

I am old. I understand that and I embrace that.

I have gray hair. I understand that and I embrace that.

What I neither understand nor embrace is when the younger set has no appreciation for the classics.

Today found our family enjoying our Winter Vacation at the Universal Studios theme park located in Singapore.

I can only surmise that future posts will include photos and additional descriptions about our trip to Singapore and our stay in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, but today’s post is my equivalent of shouting at the kids to get off my lawn.

The movie house Universal Studios has a long and glorious history especially when it comes to the classic monsters of the 1930s. There’s Bela Lugosi’s Dracula, Lon Chaney’s Phantom of the Opera, Boris Karloff’s Mummy, and Claude Rains’s Invisible Man.

Though I was born in the late 1960s, I grew up knowing about (and, at time, being terrified by) these characters. I wonder how many kids born in the 2000s know of them now.

I know of at least one that doesn’t.

As we were leaving the amusement park, I heard a child behind me shout, “Oh, look, here comes the zombie!”

I turned around and saw an actor decked out as Frankenstein’s Monster from the 1931 Universal film, Frankenstein.

{insert here the sound of my hand slapping my forehead}

I understand that in this third millennium, the Western culture is awash in zombies. From World War Z to Plants vs. Zombies to Pride and Prejudice and Zombies to Walking Dead to Zombieland, folks are simply eating up this form of the undead.

But really, how does one confuse a zombie with Frankenstein’s Monster?

One is a collection of body parts reanimated via electricity (if you follow the 1931 movie) or via an unnamed process that Victor Frankenstein, the monster’s creator, never reveals (if you follow the 1823 book written by Mary Shelley) that seeks to find its place in the world.

The other is a whole corpse reanimated by some method (i.e., virus, cosmic radiation, passing comet) that seeks only to devour and destroy (and eat some brains).

Kids today have no sense of the classics.

Next thing you know they’ll make a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles story where the heroes in the half shell are aliens instead of…you know…mutants.

Leave a Reply

