Dreaming in a Culture

September 10, 2013 – Day 041

When I lived in Peru and took Spanish lessons, my teacher told me that I would know I was beginning to gain a grasp of the language when I started to dream in Spanish.

Here in Thailand, I am not taking classes and the language (and even the letters of the Thai language) are so foreign to me, that I doubt I will ever dream and hear Thai spoken.

However, life in Thailand has already affected my nocturnal appointments with Morpheus.

Last night I had a dream where I was standing on an overpass overlooking a highway. I’ll say, for argument’s sake, that it was somewhere on Interstate 70 in Kansas. It certainly looked flat enough to be Kansas, but it could have been Nebraska.

Regardless of what Midwestern state I was in, I was standing on this overpass and I was looking at the traffic coming towards me and under me. While watching the flow of cars and trucks fly towards me and under me, I became worried because these vehicles were driving on the right-hand side of the road. Therefore, in my mind, these cars and trucks were driving on the wrong side of the road and I became extremely concerned that there would be an accident.

Of course, in the US, cars are supposed to drive on the right-hand side, but here in Thailand, they (and I in my golf cart) drive on the left-hand side. Hence, my dream-like concern.

I can now say that while I don’t yet dream in Thai, I know I’m not in Kansas anymore.

Leave a Reply

