Year-long Fun

August 29, 2013 – Day 029

Learn something new every day.

Today, my daughter and I had to visit the medical clinic that resides in our neighborhood, which I have endearingly nicknamed the SPMT (the neighborhood, not the clinic). Nothing serious, mind you, just a check-up and a Q&A session about life, medicine-wise, in Thailand.

One thing the nurse said certainly caught my attention. She asked if our family had received the flu vaccine. I said no, but it was something that we tried to do every year.

I asked when the flu season was here in Thailand. The nurse replied that because we lived in the tropics, Thailand was hit by both the Northern Hemisphere version of influenza and the Southern Hemisphere version. So I then asked when did those seasons run. Her answer was that the Northern Hemisphere flu season ran from June to September.

Okay, I thought, that sounds nearly right based on my experience living in Virginia.

Then the nurse concluded by stating that the Southern Hemisphere flu season ran from October to May.

A quick calculation in my head produced the result that this meant that it was always flu season in Thailand.

Just to make sure that I had not misheard the nurse’s answer, when I returned home, I jumped on the Internet for a second opinion (because the Net is always right) and I found this snippet from the website of the Public Health Agency of Canada which says…

The flu season usually runs from November to April in the northern hemisphere, between April and October in the southern hemisphere and year round in the tropics….Get the flu shot.

Okay, then, let’s roll up those sleeves.

Leave a Reply

